Our History

Emory University Crew was founded in 1990 as a club sport. Paul Moore, Melanie Brown (’92), and Jason Steele (’95) were instrumental in the inception of Emory Crew. When it began, the team was composed of only six rowers. Until 1997, the team rowed on the Chattahoochee River in Roswell, Georgia. In 1997 the University helped fund the construction of the Jason Steele Boathouse at Stone Mountain Lake. 

Today Emory Crew consists of over 70 dedicated athletes and an experienced, dedicated coaching team. Emory Crew continues to compete and place in top level national regattas including the Head of the Charles, the Head of the Hooch, the Dad Vail Regatta, and the A.C.R.A Regatta.

Several internationally competitive athletes got their start at Emory Crew. The first national athlete from Emory Crew came from the original 1990 team. Cyrus Beasley, class of 1995, raced his Men’s Single in the 1996 Olympics. Later, graduating in 1999, Sarah Hirst became the first Emory female athlete to be selected for an Olympics (2000). Erik Koep, from the class of 1999, raced a lightweight pair without coxswain in the 2001 World Rowing Championships. Erik has also competed as a professional cyclist.

Emory Crew continues to expand thanks to the support of the University, team alumni, and the local community.

Emory University Crew and Emory Crew Alumni Association are 501(c)3 non-profit organizations.
Emory University, 26 Eagle Row Atlanta, GA 30322

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management